Monday October 12, 2009
WOLVERHAMPTON were crowned Elite League champions after a tense and thrilling Grand Final at Blunsdon on Monday.

The Parrys International Wolves held a 16-point lead from the first leg seven-days earlier - and they needed it as the Wiltshire side gave them a fright.

Peter Adams' men did their job superbly to be level at 21-21 after seven races, leaving the Robins chasing down 16-points with only eight heats remaining.

They pulled off maximum 5-1 wins in Heats 8 and 10 and then secured a 4-2 in 11 to bring the final to life.

Adam Skornicki then won Heat 12 when he was on a tactical ride and that gave Wolves a 6-3 race win which calmed their nerves.

And when Freddie Lindgren won the next after recovering from a crash, Wolves were home and dry.

Skipper Peter Karlsson said: "It's a great feeling, I'm hurting now because of my collarbone injury but it's all been worth it. I'm very pleased for everyone connected with the club."

SWINDON 52: Matej Zagar 12+1, Leigh Adams 12+1, Morten Risager 7+3, Travis McGowan 7+2, Simon Stead 7, Ryan Fisher 5+1, Cory Gathercole 2.

WOLVERHAMPTON 41: Freddie Lindgren 10, Tai Woffinden 10, Adam Skornicki 9, Peter Karlsson 7, Ty Proctor 4+1, Nicolai Klindt 1+1, Chris Kerr 0.

Wolverhampton win 95-90 on aggregate and are crowned 2009 Elite League Champions.

Photo courtesy of Jonathan Hipkiss

Share This:   Facebook Twitter